Day 304: Weekly Prayer: Your (Wonderful) Moods

I read and prayed through the chapter on the moods of women in Omartian’s The Power of a Praying Husband. How convicting and eye-opening it was!

Often, I don’t take seriously or get frustrated by your changes of mood. Instead, I should be patient with you and marvel at how wonderfully complex you are.

Omartian gave me some good advice for what to do when you get into such a state. She says to (1) pray, (2) ask you what’s going on (but even that needs to be worded carefully), (3) listen carefully, and (4) say one of the following:

a. I love you;

b. You are the greatest woman in the world to me;

c. You’re beautiful when you’re moody;

d. Tell me what’s on your mind, and I promise not to get mad;

e. How have I let you down;

f. Have you been getting enough sleep?

g. What would make you happy right now?

h. I don’t have all the answers, but God does;

i. Do you want to pray about this together?

I actually think I’ll stick with (a), (b), (d), (e), (g), and (i) and repetitions thereof. (c) and (f) seem especially dangerous.

PS: I’ve been dreading even writing this blog post because I’m afraid of offending you or some other woman. I even dreaded writing this post script. So I kept things brief to minimize my chances of saying something wrong.

2 Responses to Day 304: Weekly Prayer: Your (Wonderful) Moods

  1. Christy says:

    I love this post. I didn’t read it as offensive to women at all. I did have to chuckle as I read the options you’d choose to use though. Good work!

Leave a Reply

