Finishing Well

During a marathon, runners sometimes hit a wall in which they suddenly feel so fatigued that they don’t think they can go on.

I believe I’ve hit a wall for this project. I’ve covered a lot of ground, but I’m tired and the end still seems distant. Though I’ve consistently done my acts of love, I’ve gotten two weeks behind on this blog. I just feel like quitting sometimes.

But I know better than to quit. I’ve dabbled enough in endurance sports to know that the very moment you feel like quitting is the moment you need to push through.* That’s where real growth occurs.

I’m not sure how many days I have left, but I think it’s something like 70. I must push through. I cannot quit. I will not fail. Who knows what gains await our marriage on the other side?  And on top of that, I committed to this project for you and I’m going to finish it for you. After all, it’s called 365 Acts of Love, not Something Like 70 Days Shy of 365 Days of Love.

*There are some exceptions, of course!

3 Responses to Finishing Well

  1. Heather says:

    You can do it
    Yes you can.
    If you can’t do it,
    No one can!

    Sorry, just my silly attempt at cheering you on. God will reward your faithfulness and bless both you and your wife. Keep putting one foot in front of the other; and enjoy your wife. But keep in mind that the ‘end’ is really just a beginning of a lifetime of love for both of you. Thanks for being inspiring!

  2. Christy says:

    This blog makes you accountable to yourself and to your wife. I keep up with each entry and enjoy reading the new things you find to do for your act of love each day. I can’t wait to see the ending of this story. Don’t give up now! Good luck. You’re in the final stretch.

Leave a Reply

