Day 185: Love Coupons

At one point, I said my acts of love would consist only in accomplished acts, not promises to commit acts. I made that decision because of my failure to fulfill the clean-the-living-room-for-a-week act and because you haven’t cashed in those coupons for household chores. After some consideration, though, I decided to give the coupon thing another shot.

During our first or second year of marriage, we bought a book of “love coupons,” thinking they would be fun to use. You left the book with me and said that they were mine to give to you at my discretion. I put them away, fully intending to use them, but never did.

A few days ago, we were spring cleaning when I found that book. I thought it’d be fun to give you one of them as a sort of reminder of our newlywed days. Here it is:

We don’t watch a lot of TV, but the idea behind the coupon is that I want you to have an evening in which my attention is focused on you and nothing else. I hope this works . . .

Leave a Reply

