Day 118: 365’s Proper Place

I gave myself a break yesterday by doing an act that required minimal effort. You went to your parents’ house with our kids, while I stayed home and worked. When you came home, I told you I missed you and that I wish we could’ve spent the day together. That was my act of love. It didn’t rock your world, but you appreciated it.

I want to be consistent with 365 because I think it’s going to have a lasting influence on our marriage, but I also want to live a balanced life. Work is throwing me off enough with all the hours I currently need to put in, so I can’t let 365 get in the way of my relationship with God and others or of proper rest and exercise.

Wouldn’t it be ironic if 365 consumed so much of my time and energy that I neglected my relationship with you to maintain it? It’s simply a tool. I shouldn’t make it more than that. So far, I haven’t sacrificed (much) time with you or others. Instead, I’ve sacrificed some sleep and exercise (I’m attempting to remedy that). And at one point, I neglected my walk with God. But overall, 365’s been the most intrusive in forcing me to reorient my heart so that it’s less self-centered. That’s a good thing.

3 Responses to Day 118: 365’s Proper Place

  1. Sarona says:

    You know what? Sometimes that speaks louder than a room full of balloons! When I mentioned to some other wives about the balloons they said, “Well! I wonder who had to clean it all up!” Naturally, I assumed it was you.

    Good job.

  2. Sarona says:

    Bingo. I think you’ve learned the lesson you set out to learn. yay!

Leave a Reply

