Some Progress or: Maybe I’ll Take Up Sailing

Last night, you told me this (unprompted by me):

“I feel like we’re friends again. Happy friends. Not just roommates . . . It’s clear you’ve been thinking about me during the day. Like how you gave me that coffee card . . .You’ve been so romantic lately. That’s exactly what I’ve wanted from you this entire time. That’s exactly what I’ve been talking about” (see “My Resolution” and day 42).

Wow! I guess I’ve accomplished what I set out to do with 365 Acts of Love, so I’m done with it. Maybe I’ll take up sailing . . . Just kidding (as you clearly know since you’re reading the finished project). I’m glad we’re seeing good changes in our marriage as a result of 365. I’ll keep working hard daily and praying that God continues to change our hearts.

By the way, yesterday we went out for a walk to our favorite coffee house and guess what you bought with your coffee card? A dark chocolate mocha!

By the bye, yesterday was the end of my week of cleaning the living room. Can you say ‘epic failure’? I probably cleaned it four of the seven days and you did the rest. This failure reminds me of day 28 when I gave you that coupon. You’re free to redeem that any time, you know. From here on out, there will be no more promissory notes, just accomplished acts.

6 Responses to Some Progress or: Maybe I’ll Take Up Sailing

  1. Melissa says:

    You’ve inspired me to try this same thing. My husband and I have been struggling to really connect since our daughter was born a year ago. Thank you do much for this blog!

  2. Eugene says:

    Even if your primary purpose is to record this for your wife, I’m glad you’re doing so. It’s been inspirational to me as well. My marriage is in a really tough place due to a sustained six years of selfishness on my part. I hope that in 77 days that I’m hearing the same thing from my wife, as she notices the changes that God is making in my life.

  3. […] At one point, I said my acts of love would consist only in accomplished acts, not promises to commit acts. I made that decision because of my failure to fulfill the clean-the-living-room-for-a-week act and because you haven’t cashed in those coupons for household chores. After some consideration, I’ve decided to give the coupon thing another shot. […]

Leave a Reply

