Day 26: Love Is Not Self-seeking

Last night while we watched a movie, I brushed your hair. (Can I be honest? Though I enjoyed doing it, I didn’t do it with the best attitude.) You’ve told me that you enjoy having your hair brushed, especially by me, but I haven’t done it much. Why not, though? I know you enjoy it and it’s not difficult. Why do I often choose laziness over service? Why do I consistently choose my interests over yours? I’m not sure, but I know this–“love is not self-seeking” (I Cor. 13:5). Selflessness is necessary for a loving relationship. In order to grow in love for you, I must daily deny myself and serve you. I hope that during this year, my character strengthens enough that I commit these acts of service from a genuine desire for your well being. May God help me in this pursuit. I cannot do it alone.

2 Responses to Day 26: Love Is Not Self-seeking

  1. amy says:

    I want you to know that your journey will bless not only your wife, and your marriage, but future generations. How we treat one another, particularly in marriage, is a loud testimony to the unsaved world. God be with you in the coming days as you work towards the end of self.

Leave a Reply

